skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. D. Fox   [10 February 1863]

6. Queen Anne St | W.

Tuesday Eveng

My dear Fox

Your note has been forwarded here, where we have all been staying for a week.1 I have been bad enough of late & came here to see whether a change wd. do me some good & it has succeeded.— I suppose from your note that you arrive at Mr Woodd’s on Wednesday Evening.— 2 We return home on Friday (possibly, but improbably on Saturday—) & leave this house at 2o30 for the Train.—

Now would it suit you to come here to lunch at 1o or 1o15 on Friday; or on Thursday, but on that day Emma will probably be out.— I do hope you will be able to come for I shall be so sincerely glad to see you.— Can you come to Down; we shd. be very glad; but my stomach has got to such a pitch that I can seldom stay, not even with nearest relations, for more than half-hour at a time. Let me have a line, that I may be sure to be at home, whenever you can come.—

My dear old friend | Ever yours | C. Darwin

Footnotes

Letter from W. D. Fox, 6 February [1863]. CD stayed at 6 Queen Anne Street, London, the home of his brother Erasmus Alvey Darwin, from 4 to 14 February 1863 (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)).
The reference is to Fox’s brother-in-law, Charles Henry Lardner Woodd, with whom Fox was staying while in London (see letter from W. D. Fox, 6 February [1863]).

Summary

Invites WDF to Down.

His stomach now so bad he cannot stay, even with close relations, for more than half an hour at a time.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3975
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Darwin Fox
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 136)
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3975,” accessed on 20 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-3975

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11

letter