skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Bentham   16 January 1863

25. Wilton Place, S.W.

Jany 16/63

My dear Darwin

I was much pleased to hear that you had prepared a paper for us which Mr Kippist will have announced for reading—on the 5th Feby which I trust may suit you—1 Should anything occur to prevent it would you kindly let him know. I am going with Jos. Hooker over to Paris for a few days but I shall be sure to be at my post on the 5th 2

Yours very sincerely | George Bentham


Richard Kippist was librarian of the Linnean Society (R. Desmond 1994). CD’s paper, ‘Two forms in species of Linum, was read at a meeting of the society on 5 February 1863.
Bentham was president of the Linnean Society. Bentham and Joseph Dalton Hooker began a ten-day trip to Paris on 17 January 1863 (Jackson 1906, p. 193).


Desmond, Ray. 1994. Dictionary of British and Irish botanists and horticulturists including plant collectors, flower painters and garden designers. New edition, revised with the assistance of Christine Ellwood. London: Taylor & Francis and the Natural History Museum. Bristol, Pa.: Taylor & Francis.

Jackson, Benjamin Daydon. 1906. George Bentham. London: J. M. Dent. New York: E. P. Dutton.

‘Two forms in species of Linum’: On the existence of two forms, and on their reciprocal sexual relation, in several species of the genus Linum. By Charles Darwin. [Read 5 February 1863.] Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) 7 (1864): 69–83. [Collected papers 2: 93–105.]


CD’s paper [on Linum] is announced for reading at the Linnean Society on 5 February.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Bentham
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Wilton Place, 25
Source of text
DAR 160: 154
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3920,” accessed on 25 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11