skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   12 August [1862]

Down. | Bromley. |Kent. S.E.

Aug. 12th.

My dear Sir

I think yours is a capital but too kind & flattering an article on my orchid Book.—1 You are an excellent hand at writing & I know that you once attended much to Botany  

Many thanks for Green feathers, which I am very glad to see.—

I much fear, from your not mentioning subject, that you have not got the Curatorship at Southampton.2 I write in hurry for I start tomorrow for a month to “Sea Villa, Bournemouth”, on account of one of my Boys, who has had frightfull illness of 8 weeks.3 All my work has gone of late to the dogs.—

My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin


Tegetmeier’s review of Orchids appeared in the August 1862 number of Weldon’s register of facts and occurrences relating to literature, the sciences, and the arts (Tegetmeier 1862). There is a copy of this review in the Scrapbook of reviews (DAR 226.1: 140).
Tegetmeier had applied for a position as curator of the museum at the new Hartley Institution, Southampton; CD had written a testimonial in support of his application (see letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 20 June 1862).
Although the Darwins travelled as far as Southampton on 13 August (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)), their onward journey to Bournemouth was delayed because Leonard Darwin suffered a relapse in his recovery from scarlet fever, and Emma Darwin contracted the disease (see letter to A. R. Wallace, 20 August [1862]).


Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Tegetmeier, William Bernhard. 1862. Darwin on orchids. Weldon’s register of facts and occurrences relating to literature, the sciences, and the arts, 1 August 1862, pp. 38-9.


WBT’s "too kind and flattering" article on Orchids.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3687,” accessed on 21 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10