skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Pamplin   23 June [1862]1

June 23d

Dear Sir

Dr. Hooker tells me that you supply paper for drying plants.2

Would you be so good as to send to enclosed address two reams with your account—

Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Please to copy one of the following addresses for Parcels, Exactly, and do not add my Post Address, as Parcels often go wrong.

C. Darwin, Esq., | Care of G. Snow,3 | Nag’s Head, | Borough, London. (Per Carrier,)

N.B. Mr. Snow, leaves the Nag’s Head, every Thursday at One o’clock precisely; but Parcels may be sent there any day previously.

Mr. DARWIN’s Address for Letters. | C. Darwin, Esq., | Down, | Bromley. | Kent.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 May 1862] (Correspondence vol.10).
Joseph Dalton Hooker had recommended Pamplin as a source for paper in his letter of [17 May 1862].
George Snow, the coal dealer at Down, operated a carrier service between the village and London on Thursdays (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1866).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office directory of the six home counties: Post Office directory of the six home counties, viz., Essex, Herts, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex. London: W. Kelly & Co. 1845–78.


Orders paper suitable for drying plants.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Pamplin
Sent from
Source of text
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries, Special Collections (laid into a copy of Origin, QH365 .O2 1859 (Copy 2))
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3620F,” accessed on 24 September 2023,