skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Leonard Horner   13 June [1862]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

June 13th

My dear Mr. Horner

I hope that you will forgive me troubling you with this note, but I wish to say how sincerely sorry we are at your great loss & at all the grief which you must have suffered.2 This event has recalled vividly to my mind the great kindness which I received, & the many pleasant hours which I have spent, in old days in Bedford Place.3 Emma desires me to thank you for having remembered us and sent her the Memorial paper; she feels that she has lost a most kind friend; and she most sincerely joins me in sympathising with you & all your family.

Pray believe me my dear M[r] Horner | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by reference to the death of Anne Susan Horner (see n. 2, below).
Horner’s wife, Anne Susan Horner, died on 22 May 1862 (K. M. Lyell ed. 1890, 2: 352).
During the 1830s and 1840s, the Horners lived at 2 Bedford Place, London (see Correspondence vol. 2, letter from Leonard Horner, 7 April [1838], and Post Office London directory 1846, 1848). CD had visited the Horners as a bachelor; he and Emma lived in London from their marriage in 1839 until their removal to Down House in 1842 (see Correspondence vol. 2).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 26 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.

Summary

Sends condolences on death of LH’s wife. Recalls many pleasant hours in Bedford Place. He and Emma thank LH for sending the memorial paper.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3599
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Leonard Horner
Sent from
Down
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (MS.2216: 167)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3599,” accessed on 23 January 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-3599.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10

letter