skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To WDFox   [17 May 1862]

Leith Hill Place | Dorking


My dear Fox

Your letter has been forwarded here, where we remain till Thursday evening.1 I am so very sorry to miss your visit. Our house is utter confusion with painters & we shall, when we return have to live in a bed-room; but I think by Monday or Tuesday week one room will be ready; is there any chance of your being in London so long as that?—

Very many thanks for your letter about Turkeys, which interests me much.2 If without very great trouble you could get me any more information about the fertility &c of the hybrids or mongrels, I shd. be very much obliged.—

In Haste | My dear Fox | Ever yours | C. Darwin


In his ‘Journal’ (see Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix II), CD recorded spending 15 to 22 May 1862 at Leith Hill Place, the Surrey home of his sister Caroline Sarah Wedgwood and her husband Josiah Wedgwood III, Emma Darwin’s brother.
Fox’s letter has not been found. CD had asked Fox for information about crosses between wild and domestic turkeys in the letter to WD. Fox, 12 May [1862].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Thanks WDF for interesting letter about turkeys. Would be grateful for information on fertility of the hybrids.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Darwin Fox
Sent from
Leith Hill Place
MY 17 62
Source of text
Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 133)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3555,” accessed on 25 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10