skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [before 15 February 1862]1

My dear Hooker

Will you give me Mr W. C. Crockers (is this spelt right?) address in enclosed envelope:2 I am half mad about Mormodes   perhaps he may know. 3



Charles William Crocker had retired from his post as foreman of the propagating department at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, and lived in Chichester (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [before 15 February 1862], and letter from C. W. Crocker, 17 February 1862).
CD had for some time been anxious to obtain reliable information concerning the mechanism by which the pollinia of this orchid are ejected, and had unsuccessfully sought observations and specimens from various of his botanical correspondents. See Correspondence vol. 9, and this volume, second letter from D. F. Nevill, [before 22 January 1862], letter from John Rogers, 22 January 1862, and letter from James Bateman [1 February 1862]. CD discussed Mormodes in Orchids, pp. 249–69.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.


Asks for the address of C. W. Crocker.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 96: 7r
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3428,” accessed on 28 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10