skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Henry Holland   31 January [1862]1

6. Queen Anne St

Jan 31st

My dear Sir Henry

I am very much obliged to you for having lent me your Essay, which I now return.2 It has pleased me much to see that our conclusions agree closely in most respects & indeed are identical in some respects, though I approach the subject as a simple naturalist & you from a more general point of view. I am convinced that if you were to publish your Essay, it would excite much attention & interest.3

With very sincere thanks for all your great kindness & interest which you have shown in my work, I remain, my dear Sir Henry | Yours truly obliged | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Henry Holland, 30 January [1862] (Correspondence vol. 10).
Holland’s manuscript has not been found; it was an essay titled ‘Life and organisation’ ([Holland] 1859), originally published in January 1859, to which Holland added a postscript referring to Origin and CD’s theory of natural selection. For the printed version of the postscript, see Correspondence vol. 10, letter from Henry Holland, 30 January [1862] and Holland 1862, pp. 98–9.
The essay was published in Essays on scientific and other subjects from the Edinburgh and Quarterly Reviews (Holland 1862).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

[Holland, Henry.] 1859. Life and organisation. Edinburgh Review 109: 227–63.

Holland, Henry. 1862. Essays on scientific and other subjects from the Edinburgh and Quarterly Reviews. London: Longman, Green, Longman, and Roberts.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Summary

Returns HH’s essay.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3424F
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Henry Holland, 1st baronet
Sent from
London
Source of text
Private collection (on loan to the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3424F,” accessed on 4 October 2023, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-3424F.xml

letter