skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From H. W. Bates   11 January 1862

King St Leicester

11 Jany 1862

My Dear Sir

It grieves me very much to hear of your illness.1 I beg of you to throw my M.S. aside & not give a moment’s thought to the subject until you are perfectly restored.2

I go to town on Monday to spend a few days—to study at the B.M. and also to attend the Linn. Soc. meeting, where I shall exhibit the box of mimetic butterflies.3 I have arranged these in such a manner that any Naturalist may understand them

Yours sincerely | H W Bates

If you should wish to say anything whilst I am in town—a note will find me addressed to

John O’Groats hotel

Rupert Street



No letter containing this information has been found. Emma Darwin recorded in her diary (DAR 242) on 4 January 1862 that CD was ‘ill with influ[enza]’.
The reference is to the manuscript of the second chapter of Bates 1863 (see letter from H. W. Bates, 6 January 1862).
Bates’s collection of mimetic butterflies from the Amazon was exhibited at a meeting of the Linnean Society of London on 16 January 1862 (Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society 6 (1862): lviii).


Grieved to hear of CD’s illness; begs him not to give moment’s thought to his MS until health has returned.

Plans to exhibit mimetic butterflies at Linnean Society.

Letter details

Letter no.
Henry Walter Bates
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 160.1: 65
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3381,” accessed on 17 September 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10