skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [22 November 1861]

[Down]

Friday

My dear Hooker

I have been thinking unless you are sure that your carrier will deliver Bolbophyllum & Catasetum by 1 oclock on Thursday (to care of G. Snow Nag’s Head Borough)1 you had better send the Box per Rail addressed to “C. Darwin care of Down Postman Bromley Kent” & as soon as I heard it was at Bromley, I could send horse & cart for it.— I have friends Hot-House, who well understands Orchids & could take care of the the Catasetum—2 No doubt Nag’s Head best way if in time; & if it not in time I could send to London, for Box.— Let me know when sent to Nag’s Head— Bolbophyllum will be treasure

My dear old fellow | C. D

Footnotes

George Snow operated a weekly carrier service between Down and London, making the return trip to Down every Thursday. The ‘Nag’s Head’ was a public house in Borough, south-east London.
In Orchids, p. 158 n., CD thanked George Henry Turnbull of The Rookery, Down, for permitting him to use his hot-house.

Bibliography

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Summary

Transport of an orchid to Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3326
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 115: 133
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3326,” accessed on 7 May 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-3326.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9

letter