skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Lindley   16 November [1861]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Nov. 16th

My dear Lindley

I thank you warmly for your two notes & the store of specimens received this morning.2

I am ashamed that you have sent so many valuable specimens; for it is a chance whether I can make out for my purpose anything from dried specimens.— But I shall be very glad to have a try, & so again thank you cordially.— I have had a most obliging note from Mr Rucker (to whom I used your name) with promise of Catasetum & some Dendrobium.—3 I have written also to Lady Dorothy.4

I know how many irons you have in the fire & will not be unreasonable & I hope give no more trouble.

Yours very truly obliged | Charles Darwin


The year is given by the relationship to the letter to John Lindley, 1 November [1861]. See also n. 4, below.
Lindley’s letters have not been found. They were written in response to the letter to John Lindley, 1 November [1861].
Sigismund Rucker, who lived in West Hill, Wandsworth, is acknowledged in Orchids, p. 158 n., for having provided CD with specimens of these foreign orchids.
Lindley had suggested that CD write to Dorothy Fanny Nevill (see letter to D. F. Nevill, 12 November [1861]).


Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.


CD sends thanks for many valuable dried specimens [of orchids]. Has been promised Catasetum and some Dendrobium by Mr Rucker; has written also to Lady Dorothy [Nevill].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Lindley
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Lindley letters, A–K: 196)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3321,” accessed on 18 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9