skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier1   29 August [1861]2

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Aug 29th

My dear Sir

One line to say that I have returned home, with some benefit to my health & much good to my daughter’s.—3 I am in no hurry, but when ready you can return my M.S.—4 Kindly take the trouble to register it, & mark it “a M.S for printing”— The string had better pass over the ends of parcel.

My dear Sir | In Haste yours sincerely | C. Darwin


The correspondent is identified by the reference to returning CD’s manuscript. CD had asked Tegetmeier to read the discussion of variation in fowls intended for Variation. CD sent the manuscript to Tegetmeier before leaving for Torquay (see letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 14 June [1861]).
The year is established by the reference to CD’s having just returned home. The Darwins arrived back at Down House, after spending eight weeks in Torquay, on 27 August 1861 (see ‘Journal’; Appendix II).
The Darwins had visited the seaside in the hope that it would help Henrietta Emma Darwin recuperate from a prolonged illness.
See n. 1, above.


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Asks for return of his MS [unspecified].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Victoria and Albert Museum (Baillie collection, MSL/1959/3736/16, Pressmark 86.QQ.1)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3237,” accessed on 20 September 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9