skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Charles Wilkes1   [7 November 1836]

43. Grt. Marlborough St

Dear Sir

I am going into the country for a few weeks on Thursday.— As I am anxious to have the pleasure of conversing a short time with you, concerning your long & most interesting voyage, I have thought the best plan of meeting would be to fix some hour.— Shall you be disengaged on Wednesday between 12 and 1 o’clock? If this hour is inconvenient, will you send me one line, & fixing some other.— In case I do not hear, I will call at Long’s2 on Wednesday.

Yours very faithfully | Charles Darwin *S 2



Lieutenant (later Admiral) Charles Wilkes, American naval officer and explorer, was in London to obtain instruments for an exploring expedition to the Antarctic, the islands of the Pacific, and the Pacific Northwest, 1838–42 (see Borthwick 1965).
Long’s Hotel, 13 Clifford St, Bond St, London (Boyle’s court and country guide, London 1836).


Borthwick, D. E. 1965. Outfitting the United States exploring expedition: Lieutenant Charles Wilkes’ European assignment, August–November, 1836. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society 109: 159–72.


Arranges to meet CW for conversation.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Charles Wilkes
Sent from
London, Gt Marlborough St, 43
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.6)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 320,” accessed on 17 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1