skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To George Gordon   17 June [1861]

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

June 17th

Dear Sir

You formerly did me the inestimable service of sending me Goodyera.1 I have now examined almost every British Orchid, except Corallorhiza. I know it is most unlikely that you can aid me in this; but I have thought that you would forgive me writing for the bare chance. As it will save you trouble, I will assume if I do not hear that you cannot aid me.—2 If you can, will you be so very kind as to let me have a line; as in one fortnight I must go somewhere to the sea-side: & as I shall take my microscope I could send you my address.

Pray forgive the liberty which I have taken in troubling you & with very sincere thanks for your former great kindness. Pray forgive me | Dear Sir | Yours sincerely obliged | Ch. Darwin

Goodyera is growing in a shady peat-bed in my garden & I have hopes it will flower with me!

Footnotes

See Correspondence vol. 8, letter to George Gordon, 17 September [1860]. In Orchids, p. 112 n., CD stated: ‘Specimens of this rare Highland Orchid were most kindly sent me by the Rev. G. Gordon of Elgin.’
The orchid genus Corallorhiza is not described in Orchids.

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Summary

Asks whether GG can help CD get specimens of Corallorhiza.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3185
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
George Gordon
Sent from
Down
Postmark
JU 17 | 61
Source of text
Elgin Museum (Gordon Archive 61.7)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3185,” accessed on 21 September 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-3185.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9

letter