skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Richard Kippist1   13 February [1861?]2

Down, Kent

Feb. 13th

… “I will send tonight by our Carrier3 all the Books in Hand in an old Portmanteau (which please return) so … they will come safely.4

With sincere thanks for your vy. kind assistance. | C. Darwin

“I suppose De Blainville’s Osteographie does not include Rabbits or Hares, as I much wish to see such if it were ever published.”5


Kippist was librarian of the Linnean Society of London, from which CD often borrowed works that he needed to consult for his research.
The year is suggested by the 1859 watermark of the stationery and by CD’s reference to the carrier’s leaving ‘tonight’. George Snow ran a carrier service between Down and London that left Down at 2 A.M. every Thursday morning (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1862). In 1861, 13 February fell on a Wednesday. This date is further confirmed by the reference to ‘Rabbits and Hares’. In 1861, CD was preparing the chapter on variation in rabbits for Variation (see ‘Journal’; Appendix II).
George Snow. See n. 2, above.
See letter to Richard Kippist, 7 January [1861]. It is not known which books from the Linnean Society CD was returning.


Blainville, Henri Marie Ducrotay de. 1839–64. Ostéographie, ou description iconographique comparée du squelette et du système dentaire des mammifères récents et fossiles, pour servir de base à la zoologie et à la géologie. 4 vols. with atlas. Paris: J. B. Baillière et fils.

Post Office directory of the six home counties: Post Office directory of the six home counties, viz., Essex, Herts, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex. London: W. Kelly & Co. 1845–78.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Gives notice of returning books by a carrier and thanks for assistance.

Asks whether Henri Marie Ducrotay de Blainville’s Ostéographie (1839–64) includes rabbits or hares.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Richard Kippist
Sent from
Source of text
James Lowe Autographs Ltd (dealers)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3061A,” accessed on 20 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9