skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Innes   11 September [1860]

Down Bromley Kent

Sept. 11th

Dear Innes.

I am very sorry to say that I fear we shall not see you when you come to Keston,1 for we have almost made up our minds to be off next week to sea-side for a month to see what the change will do for Etty,—though I have not much hope.

Your account of the Donkey has interested me much & would you be so kind as to have another look at it & observe whether its eyes are pink; but as you say it is rather cream-coloured than white, it probably is not an albino.—   Did the owner rear it; if so please ask him whether it was born of same colour & had then no stripes.— Anytime will do for an answer.—2

I am sorry to hear about your house difficulties.3

Dear Innes | Ever yours very truly | C. Darwin.


Keston is a village about three miles from Down.
See letter to John Innes, 6 September [1860]. Innes’s information about donkeys is not cited by CD in Variation.
See letters to John Innes, 18 July [1860] and 6 September [1860].


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Going to sea-side for Etty’s health.

Asks JBI further questions about a striped donkey he had reported to CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Brodie Innes
Sent from
Source of text
Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2912,” accessed on 23 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8