skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frederick Bond   26 June 1860

Cavendish Rd

June 26th. 1860

Dear Sir

The box was registered & arrived here on Saturday night but my being away it was not acknowledged.1 I regret that it was so. I hope you kept it as long as you wished. They are very careful at the post office generally I do not recollect losing a box & have had very few injured & those have been badly packed or bad boxes.

Should I have an opportunity this season I will attend to your wishes as to the small clover’s &c2 I know there are several small moths very fond of some of them & are hardly to be found anywhere but on the flower’s & | Believe me to be | Yours very truly | Fk Bond

C. Darwin. Esqr.

CD annotations

1.1 The box … wishes 2.1] crossed pencil
2.1 as to] ‘A’ over ‘a’, pencil
2.2 clover’s] ‘Clovers’ added pencil
2.2 moths] crossbar added to ‘t’, pencil
2.3 hardly to] ‘ly’ added pencil; ‘o’ added pencil
2.3 but] crossbar added to ‘t’, pencil
2.3 on the] crossbar added to ‘t’, pencil


The box that CD returned to Bond contained specimens of Lepidoptera that had pollinia attached to their mouth-parts. See letter from Frederick Bond, [16? June 1860].
See letter to Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer, [20 June 1860].


Hopes to make observations on moths pollinating clovers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frederick Bond
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Cavendish Rd
Source of text
DAR 76 (ser. 2): 169
Physical description
2pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2847,” accessed on 17 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8