skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frederick Bond   [16? June 1860]1

to them, viz. Polia Occulta and Spilodes Palealis, the first a night & the other an evening flyer, I will send them if you wish it—2 I have frequently seen Plusia Gamma, H. Dentina, Mamestra Anceps and two or three of the Pyralidæ, on Clover, Trefoil & Vetches. I have seen field beans’ almost smothered with moths (when in bloom) at night, & Believe me to be | Yours truly | Fk Bond

C. Darwin. Esqr.

CD annotations

1.1 to them … wish it— 1.2] crossed pencil
1.2 I have] square bracket before, pencil
1.3 H. Dentina,] ‘Hadina’ added ink
1.3 Pyralidæ,] ‘Pyralidæ’ added ink
1.4 Trefoil] ‘Trefoil’ added ink
1.4 beans’] ‘Beans’ added pencil
Top of letter: ‘3’3 brown crayon, circled brown crayon
End of letter: ‘June 18 1860’ ink


Although CD marked the letter ‘June 18 1860’ (see CD annotations), he had apparently received the letter before this date. In his letter to J. D. Hooker, 17 June [1860], CD states that he had received ‘good facts about moths & orchids.—’
Bond is cited in Orchids, p. 35, as having sent CD a large number of moths with orchid pollinia attached to their proboscises. A list of the species of moths received is given in Orchids, p. 36, and includes two of the species mentioned in the extant portion of the letter.
The number of CD’s portfolio of notes on variation and varieties.


Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.


Observations on moths visiting flowers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frederick Bond
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 76 (ser. 2): 168
Physical description
1p inc †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2837,” accessed on 4 July 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8