skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To H. A. Huxley   [before 25 November 1866?]1

6 Queen Anne St | W.

My dear Mrs. Huxley

I want very much to see you & the children & to ask Huxley2 some non-scientific & some scientific questions. Might I call on Sunday & should you think me utterly unreasonable if I proposed to call about 10 oclock, for my strength always oozes away as the day advances.— I would not stay much more than half-an-hour.— If the hour for any cause proves inconvenient could I come between 112 & 2 oclock?

Will you have kindness to send me briefest answer to my request & believe me my dear Mrs. Huxley | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

My movements on any day are not very certain & if I do not come at whatever hour you may fix, you will understand that I am not able from health.


The date range is suggested by the relationship between this letter and the letter to A. R. Wallace, [23 November 1866?] (Correspondence vol. 14), in which CD also uses the phrase ‘my strength always oozes away as the day advances’. The Darwins were in London from 22 to 29 November 1866; 25 November was a Sunday.
Thomas Henry Huxley.


Asks if he may call on Sunday at 10 o’clock.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Henrietta Anne Huxley
Sent from
6 Queen Anne Street, London
Source of text
Janet Huxley (private collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2797F,” accessed on 20 October 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)