skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From E. A. Darwin   [9 March 1826]


Dear C.

Of course you will be delighted to pay the postage of another note, being a second edition of my stupidity.

I have given up my intention of going by sea, & I was meditating to send you such an account of my not being sick but for want of something just at present to tell you I am obliged to tell you the truth, which is this.

I went to the office to get my place when I learnt that the vessel would not sail till Saturday & not then for certain because of the uncertainty of the weather: the man assured me it would not signify for if the vessel set off on Saturday we should be in Liverpool by Monday morning, which is rather too much of a good thing. I have sent my box to go by sea & it does not require to be directed to any person in Liverpool: If you also should alter your mind I dare say you can send it from Edinburgh directed in the following kind of fashion.

C. D. Laird & Co 25 York St. Glasgow By the Henry Bell Steam Boat

Liverpool To be sent on to


I went this morning & dawdled an hour or so over the Hunterian Museum1 which is well worth going to being only a 1/. & nobody to bother you by lionising. There are most splending foreign birds Birds of Paradise Humming Birds which quite dazzle the eyes. English Birds Lions &c, 4 ornithrync⁠⟨⁠hi⁠⟩⁠ numbers of snakes, min⁠⟨⁠erals⁠⟩⁠ shells, anatomical prep⁠⟨⁠  ⁠⟩⁠ pictures, &c. &c. &c. &c.

The Students here actually play at foot ball within the precincts of the college: you never did see such a set set since you was born & please God never again.

I intend travelling the same route as we came bye indeed there is little choice without a considerable circuit.

Good Bye once again.2


The bequest of William Hunter to the University of Glasgow. The collection included geological, zoological, and ethnographical specimens, medical preparations, a library, manuscripts, coins, and works of art.
Instead of a signature, there is a scrawl resembling a leaf or feather.


Found his vessel delayed. Spent an hour or so at the Hunterian Museum, "well worth going to".

Letter details

Letter no.
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Glasg⁠⟨⁠ow⁠⟩⁠ 9 MAR 1826 405
Source of text
DAR 204: 15
Physical description
AL 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 26,” accessed on 17 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1