skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Huxley   [9 December 1859]1



My dear Huxley

At your leisure return enclosed in blank envelope to Down. I am off home—

Farewell my good and dear general agent. | C. D.

Do not forget when you write to Köllicker2 to say a word about the Translation, it would do good service to the subject.3 It will be God’s blessing if I do not become the most conceited man in all England.


Dated on the assumption that CD was writing from his brother’s house, where he stayed for two days en route to Down. He left Ilkley on 7 December and arrived in Down on 9 December 1859 (‘Journal’; Appendix II).
Rudolf Albert von Kölliker was professor of comparative anatomy in Würzburg. CD sent him a copy of the second edition of Origin in April 1860 (see Correspondence vol. 8, letter to John Murray,9April [1860]). CD had formerly presented Kölliker with a copy of Living Cirripedia (1854) (see Correspondence vol. 5, letters to T. H. Huxley, 2 September [1854] and 13 September [1854]).
For the negotiations concerning a German translation of Origin, see Correspondence vol. 8, letters to T. H. Huxley, 2 [February 1860] and 4 February [1860], and to H. G. Bronn, 4 February [1860].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Sends enclosure [unspecified].

Reminds THH to mention [German] translation [of Origin] when he writes to R. A. von Kölliker.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Henry Huxley
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 145: 189
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2574,” accessed on 27 February 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7