skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   25 [July 1859]1

Down Bromley Kent [Moor Park]


My dear Sir

I write to say that 5 sheets are returned to Printers ready to strike off & two more sheets require only a revise; so that I presume you will soon have to decide what number of copies to print off—

I am quite incapa-2 of forming any opinion.— I think I have got the style fairly good & clear with infinite trouble. But whether the Book will be successful to a degree to satisfy you, I really cannot conjecture. I heartily hope it may.—

My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin

I am writing this at Moor Park Hydropathic establishment whither I have had to retreat for a week’s strength, but I return home tomorrow.3


Dated by CD’s reference to being at Moor Park hydropathic establishment (see n. 3, below).
CD did not finish the word on the next page.
CD visited Moor Park from 19 to 26 July 1859 (‘Journal’; Appendix II).


Sends five sheets [of Origin] to printer. Incapable of forming an opinion, but thinks he has the style "fairly good and clear". Cannot conjecture if book will be successful enough to satisfy JM.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Moor Park
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff.36–37)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2477,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7