skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. D. Fox   10 April [1859]

Down Bromley Kent

Ap. 10th

My dear Fox

I anticipated from your former letter that your mother could not possibly survive long.1 You must yourself have been quite prepared; but when the blow comes it is always shocking. Pray give my kindest remembrances & sincere sympathy to your sisters. What a happy time I once spent at Osmaston.2 How all things are changed for us in this world.—

I am extremely glad that you going to attend to your own health; for I am sure it must want care, after all you have gone through. Dr Lane’s address is “Moor Park, Farnham, Surrey”.3 He has two tarifs, 4 guineas per week for the better & larger bed-rooms & 3 guineas for the smaller, but I believe these are good.4 There is Bathman to add, & 5s per week if fire in Bedroom.— I think if anyone goes as friend it is only 2 guineas per week— I do not think I have ever heard charge for man & wife.— Had you not better write to Dr. Lane; I would under similar circumstances openly.— I am sure they would be very glad to have you: for they were much taken with you.5 In my opinion it is a very nice place.—

It will be splendid if you come to see us at Ilkley.6

Believe me, My dear Fox | Your old & affectionate friend | Ch. Darwin


Ann Fox died on 7 April 1859 (Darwin pedigree).
Osmaston Hall, near Derby, had been the home of the Fox family. CD had spent three weeks there in 1828 (see Correspondence vol. 1, letter to W. D. Fox, [October 1828]).
Edward Wickstead Lane was the proprietor of the Moor Park hydropathic establishment.
For the two weeks CD stayed at Moor Park in February 1859, he recorded having paid £9. 6s. (Account book (Down House MS)).
Fox visited CD at Moor Park in April 1858 (see letter to W. D. Fox, 8 May [1858]).
CD was planning to undergo the water-cure at an establishment in Ilkley, Yorkshire, in the summer.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Darwin pedigree: Pedigree of the family of Darwin. Compiled by H. Farnham Burke. N.p.: privately printed. 1888. [Reprinted in facsimile in Darwin pedigrees, by Richard Broke Freeman. London: printed for the author. 1984.]


Sympathises with family on death of WDF’s mother [Anne Fox née Darwin].

Sends details of fees at Moor Park hydropathic establishment.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Darwin Fox
Sent from
Source of text
Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 121)
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2451,” accessed on 24 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7