skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Huxley   3 November [1858]1

Down Bromley Kent

Nov. 3d

My dear Huxley

I most entirely subscribe to all you say in your note.— I have had some correspondence with Hooker on the subject.—2 As it seems certain that a movement in the B. Museum is generally anticipated, my main objection is quite removed; & as I have told Hooker I have no objection whatever to sign a Memorial of the nature of the one he sent me or that now returned.3 Both seem to me very good. I cannot help being fearful whether government will ever grant money enough for Books. I can see many advantages in not being under the unmotherly wing of art & archæology; & my only fear was that we were not strong enough to live without some protection, so profound, I think, is the contempt for, & ignorance of, natural science amongst the gentry of England.—

Hooker tells me that I shd. be converted into favour of Kensington Gore, if I heard all that could be said in its favour but I cannot yet help thinking so Western a locality, a great misfortune. Has Lyell been consulted? his would be a powerful name, & such names go for much with our ignorant governors.—4 You seem to have taken much trouble in business & I honour you for it.—

Ever yours | C. Darwin


Dated by the reference to the memorial to the chancellor of the exchequer, dated 18 November 1858 (see Correspondence vol.7, Appendix VI).
CD refers to the proposal to relocate the natural history collections of the British Museum. See letters to J. D. Hooker, 29 [October 1858] and 2 November [1858].
The final version of the memorial is transcribed in Appendix VI.
Charles Lyell was not among the signatories of the memorial presented on 18 November 1858.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Hooker has convinced him that move of British Museum by Government is anticipated. He is now willing to sign the memorial. Still fears for library needs, and objects to distant Kensington site. Lyell should be asked to sign.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Henry Huxley
Sent from
Source of text
Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 248)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2352,” accessed on 11 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7