skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Skeffington Poole   [27 October 1858]1

Moor Park, Farnham | Surrey


Dear Sir

Your letter has been forwarded to me here from my home, and I write merely to thank you for this further proof of your great kindness.2

The facts about the young wild ass, which I do not doubt is the Hemionus3 (& I shall be able to find out positively), are quite new and interesting to me. I am particularly obliged for your permission to use your name & I will be cautious in my manner of quoting you. But the tenor of your communication leaves little doubt in my mind of the entire accuracy of your memory.

With my cordial thanks for your great kindness, I beg leave to remain Dear Sir | yours truly obliged | Ch Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Skeffington Poole, 23 October 1858 (this volume, Supplement), and by the address and day of the week given. CD visited Moor Park in Surrey for hydropathic treatment from 25 October to 1 November 1858 (Correspondence vol. 7, Appendix II); there was one Wednesday in this period, 27 October.
Equus hemionus (the onager).


Thanks for the information about about Kattywar (Kathiawari) horses in India.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Skeffington Poole
Source of text
Ronald Levine, Modern 1st Editions

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2348F,” accessed on 22 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)