skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Caroline Darwin   7 March [1833]


March 7th.

My dear Charles

Though it is not my turn to write to you I cannot resist the opportunity of sending you my very best love— I was so glad to get your last letter of November 24th with such a happy account of yourself & I must congrat— you on being so successful and persevering in collecting I shall be very curious to read in your journal how you first heard of the Megatherium Coat & whether it is a part that has not before been sent to England— I thought I had heard Mr Sedgwick say some specimen of the coat was now in England—

We heard of you a few days later than your letter again through Mr. Hughes who seems to envy you your expedition his own life must be dull enough to be sure— I am so happy to be able to give you such a nice account of my Father he is looking very well & though since you went his powers of moving about, walking &tc are very much gone he is in every other respect quite like himself, he sees hardly any patients & refuses going to any distance but he amuses himself very well & his eyes from habit are not so soon tired by reading as they were formerly, we go on in the old way having our game of whist & Cassino every evening—

Charlotte Holland is to be married on the 14th of this month to Mr Isaac Emma Wedgwood is to be one of the Brides maids & go back with Louisa H. to London— I expect Erasmus will be a very attentive Cavalier to her & nobody knows what will be the end of the drives in his Cab he will take her to & fro Clapham where the Hensleigh Wedgwoods live— there will be quite a new race sprung up before you return little Hensleighs & little Franks— Charlotte Langton says she almost rejoices to hear the expedition is to last 5 years longer as she thinks there is greater chance of your not staying all the time but I hope the report we heard was false of the time being lengthened— How anxious & impatient we shall be for your next letter after your cold Patagonian voyage my dear Charles it is such a happiness that your health bears what you go through— I wish I could think of any more home details— Mark has a very pretty little baby— Old Pincher is very well— I ride now the Grey you had from Joseph & like him very much

I am going to Maer tomorrow—such a small party—Uncle Jos being in London & Emma away. Uncle Jos stands the fatigue of Parliamt very well & I think writes in spirits as if he liked the life— he says 19 out of 20 of the speeches are very dull. he is a staunch supporter of Ministry & is very bitter against the Radicals All parties seem to agree that some strong measure in favor of Emancipation of the Slaves will be carried this session & I am sure that alone is enough to make one value the present Ministers—

Your journal is quite safe & we are far from thinking you over careful in being most anxious it should not be lost but pray be at ease it shall be taken the greatest care of— I had & so had my father & all of us so much pleasure & interest in reading it.

Good bye My very dear Charles and God bless you Sitting & writing in this old school room makes me feel so Motherly to you dear Tactus— Yrs. vy affecly | Caroline Darwin


Sends her love and family news.

Letter details

Letter no.
Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin/Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 204: 75
Physical description
ALS 5pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 202,” accessed on 16 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1