skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Lubbock   [8 June 1856]1



Dear Lubbock

Will you be so kind as to lend me, if you are not using it, the Fly-Pincers, like a pair of scissors.


Georgy has taken a passion for Bees,2 & I want to see whether they will be useful to him, & if so I can get a pair made for him.—

I have been very sorry to hear how unwell you have been; but I hope you are now strong again.—

Ever yours | C. Darwin

Mrs. Darwin continues very poorly.—

Wollaston’s book on Insect variation is published & I am reading it.—3


June 1856d from the reference to CD’s reading of Wollaston 1856 (see n. 3, below).
George Howard Darwin was nearly 11 years old.
Wollaston 1856. CD recorded it in his reading notebook on 5 June 1856 (Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix IV, 128: 18).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Wollaston, Thomas Vernon. 1856. On the variation of species with especial reference to the Insecta; followed by an inquiry into the nature of genera. London: John van Voorst.


Wishes to borrow fly pincers for his son George.

Discusses T. V. Wollaston’s book on insect variation [On the variation of species (1856)].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 263: 4 (EH 88206452)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1896,” accessed on 18 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6