skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To S. P. Woodward   3 June [1856]1

Down Bromley Kent

June 3d.

My dear Sir

I have just finished studying with all the attention of which I am capable, your Book.2 And I, for one, am deeply indebted to you for its publication, as I have not derived for years so much solid instruction & interest, from any other book.—

I have some questions, which I am most anxious to ask you: I have written them down;3 but I think I shall cause you less trouble, by reading them over with you. (if you are kindly willing to assist me) & then leaving them if necessary.— I shall be in London in about a fortnight & will then call & see whether you will give me a little help—4

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin.


Dated by the reference to Woodward 1851–6 (see n. 2, below).
Woodward 1851–6. CD recorded having read this work on 5 June 1856 (Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix IV, 128: 18). See letter to S. P. Woodward, 15 May [1856].
Emma Darwin’s diary indicates that CD was in London on 12 June 1856 and again from 18 to 21 June.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Woodward, Samuel Pickworth. 1851–6. A manual of the Mollusca; or, a rudimentary treatise of recent and fossil shells. 3 pts. London. [Vols. 6,8,9]


Comments on SPW’s book [Manual of Mollusca (1851–6)].

Mentions questions he has for SPW [see 1890].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Samuel Pickworth Woodward
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.129)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1886,” accessed on 30 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6