skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Samuel Birch   [12 March 1856]1

57 Queen Anne St | Cavendish Sqre.


My dear Sir

I will take advantage of your most kind offer2 & call on you on Friday about 11 oclock; if I do not hear to contrary I will venture to assume that this will suit you.—

Pray believe me, | Yours very truly obliged | Ch. Darwin


CD was in London between 10 and 14 March 1856 (see the letter to W. D. Fox, 15 March [1856]) staying with his brother, whose address he gives. He attended a council meeting of the Royal Society of London on Thursday, 13 March (Royal Society council minutes).
See letters to J. E. Gray, 14 January [1856], and to Samuel Birch, 6 February [1856]. Birch translated for CD passages referring to pigeons from an ancient Chinese encyclopaedia and on fowls from ancient Egyptian and Japanese sources. See Origin, 27–8, and Variation 1: 205, 230, 247. For a list of CD’s Chinese sources, see Pan 1984.


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Pan, Jixing. 1984. Charles Darwin’s Chinese sources. Isis 75: 530-4.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Arranges an appointment.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Samuel Birch
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 57
Source of text
British Museum (Department of the Middle East, correspondence 1826–67: 1489)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1841A,” accessed on 30 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6