skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   [1 February 1856]1

57 Queen Anne St | Cavendish Sqe

Friday morning

My dear Sir

I received a note from Mr. Bult late last night, in which he very courteously offers to show me his Pigeons, at 11 oclock tomorrow morning, & tells me how best to get to his house per omnibus. He says “if Mr Tegetmeier comes with you it will add to the pleasure”. I hope you may, but I see it is quite a long walk.2

Pray believe me, Your’s very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

Dated by the relationship to the letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 14 January [1856]. CD was in London, staying at the house of his brother Erasmus Alvey Darwin, to attend a council meeting of the Royal Society of London on 31 January 1856 (Royal Society council minutes).
Benjamin Edmund Bult’s business premises were at 25 New Quebec Street, only about half a mile from Queen Anne Street, but presumably he resided elsewhere. Tegetmeier lived about eight miles distant in Wood Green, near Tottenham (Post Office London directory 1855; CD’s Address book (Down House MS)).

Bibliography

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.

Summary

Has been invited to see Mr Bult’s pigeons.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-1821
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 57
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1821,” accessed on 27 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-1821.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 6

letter