skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   10 August [1855]

Down Farnborough Kent

Aug. 10th

My dear Hooker

Many thanks for your note with Dr. Lindleys1 invitation. I had so strong a wish to accept it, in order to get to know him, that I accepted it, but the next morning I felt so unwell, together with a note from home made me give it up with great reluctance & I wrote a second note to Lindley. I almost wish I had thrown all the circumstances to the dogs & staid; but it is now too late.

My morning with H. C. W.2 passed off very prosperously & I had much very interesting talk; but he is rather too sarcastic to my taste. He strikes me as a very clever man. Will you sometime look in your Library & see whether you have the Memoires of the Academy of Nancy 1848–1849. for Godron3 It is not in Linnean or Royal Socy.—

I forget exactly when you start, but I shall hear nothing of you now for a long time.4 Adios.—

Watson told me some capital stories of the caution requisite about inferring that seeds have lain long buried from their suddenly springing up: nevertheless I found that he does go a long way in believing that they do sometimes lie buried from cases which he had himself seen.—

Farewell | C. Darwin


John Lindley was professor of botany at University College London, and editor of the Gardeners’ Chronicle.
Hewett Cottrell Watson.
Godron 1848–9. CD had been looking for Dominique Alexandre Godron’s paper ‘De l’espèce et des races’ since March. See letters to J. D. Hooker, [before 7 March 1855], and to Arthur Henfrey, 17 March [1855].
Hooker was preparing to start on a European tour with Nathaniel Lindley, son of John Lindley. For Lindley’s recollections of the trip, see L. Huxley ed. 1918, 1: 435.


Godron, Dominique Alexandre. 1848–9. De l’espèce et des races dans les êtres organisés du monde actuel. Mémoires de la Société Royale des Sciences, Lettres et Arts de Nancy (1848): 182–288; De l’espèce considérée dans les êtres organisés, appartenant aux périodes géologiques qui ont précédé celle où nous vivons. Mémoires de la Société des Sciences, Lettres et Arts de Nancy (1849): 381-420. Reprinted separately. 2 vols. Nancy. 1848–9.


Morning with H. C. Watson; discussed problems of inferences from buried seeds.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 144
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1737,” accessed on 19 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5