skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Thomas Salt   12 July [1854]

Down Farnborough Kent

July 12th.

My dear Sir

I am much obliged to you for your note received this morning, informing me that 1018£ will be paid to my account this day in London.— I am very sorry that you shd. have been inconvenienced by Mr. Muckleston paying the whole in Gold.— I am thankful to have done with the gentleman.—1

I have not yet received the interest from L. Powis on the 13,000£ up to July 1st., but daresay I soon shall.— I do not suppose that an ordinary receipt for the principal & interest will suffice, & if it be my part to have any formal document drawn up will you be so kind to take the necessary steps.— I sent about a month ago the Bond to you.— I sent a provisional, stamped receipt for the 13,000£ to Mr. — C. Wilding.—2

My dear Sir | Your’s very sincerely | C. Darwin

T. Salt Esqre.—


According to CD’s Investment book, on 24 June 1845, Edward Muckleston (1790–1851) was lent £1000 from Emma Darwin’s trust for five years; the money was repaid in 1854. See also this volume, Supplement, letters to Thomas Salt, 24 December 1851 and 26 December [1851], and Correspondence vol. 5, letter to Josiah Wedgwood III, 1 May [1854]. Muckleston’s executor was his son, Edward Muckleston (1819–1913).
Edward James Herbert, earl of Powis, had borrowed £13,000 from CD in November 1849, a continuation of the loan extended to Herbert by Robert Waring Darwin. According to CD’s Investment book (Down House MS), p. 43, the capital was repaid on 1 July 1854. Interest up to 1 July 1854 was also recorded (ibid., p. 44). Charles Wilding was Lord Powis’s land agent.


Thanks for money paid into his account. Has not received interest payment from Lord Powis.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Salt
Sent from
Source of text
Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1577F,” accessed on 15 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24 (Supplement)