skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Josiah Wedgwood III   18 February 1853

Down Farnborough Kent

Feb. 18th. | 1853.

Dear Jos.

I remember being asked personally by some one, I presume yourself, about the Deeds of the Owen Mortgage1 & consenting to their remaining, as proposed, in Mrss. Salt’s2 possession. I now repeat my acquiesceence in writing:—

I return Mr Salt’s note.

Thanks for the 84£3 & information regarding the proportion during past years to be considered as income.

I hope you are all well & not snowed up this wild weather

Yours very truly | C. Darwin Jos. Wedgwood Esq

Willy has been unwell & unable to return to school; but I hope he will be able to go on Monday4

I see in your letter you say that for 1852, the income ought to have been £180, but I received only £170 viz. Feb 17th 62 Aug. 24. 48 Nov. 30 th 60 —— £. 170

I have little doubt I have received my due,5 that all this year of 1852, was income & that it amounted to £10 less than you added up.— If this be so, I shall understand by not hearing that it is so.—


Thomas Salt, solicitor in Shrewsbury.
CD recorded the receipt of £86 from ‘Etruria’ on 18 February 1853 in his Classed account book (Down House MS).
William Erasmus and the other Darwin children had mumps (see letter to W. E. Darwin, 1 March [1853]).
These figures are given, under the same dates, in CD’s Classed account book (Down House MS), labelled as from either ‘J. Wedgwood’ or ‘Etruria’. CD’s Investment book records that Emma retained a financial interest in the Wedgwood company through an investment in the ‘Etruria property’.


Sends his written consent regarding custody of the deeds of the Owen mortgage. Other financial matters.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Josiah Wedgwood, III
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.10: 20
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1503,” accessed on 13 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5