skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. E. Darwin   27 August [1852]

Down Farnborough | Kent

Augt 27th.—

My dear Willy

We were very glad to get your letter, which did not arrive as usual on Tuesday, but on Wednesday morning. It was a very nice letter indeed, & told us a great deal, which we wished to hear. We are very glad to hear how well you did your holiday tasks; Mamma thought you would. I wish Fortune had favoured you, & you had got into the Remove;1 but your present place is a very good one, & I hope you will keep it. You were a good lad to send the plan of the yard: I can now exactly fancy where you are. When you write tell us, how you like being alone? How do you manage about tea & Breakfast? In some respects it will be better having a room to yourself, as you will be your own master; & you will be able to read a great deal, of which you are so very, so extremely fond. Have I not written this note in a very good hand for me? I am sure you will say yes; & therefore I will return the compliment, & tell you that your note was very well written: if we were to write to each other every day


‘Promotion, at school, of a pupil from a class or division to a higher one’; ‘At some schools … A certain division of the school’ (OED).


Thanks for his letter; hopes he is managing all right [at Rugby?].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Erasmus Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.6: 4

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1486,” accessed on 24 August 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5