skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Higgins   2 August [1852]

Down Farnborough | Kent

Augt. 2d.

My dear Sir

I am really much obliged by your kind letter, but am sorry that I should have given you the trouble of writing it.

From what I had occasionally heard & seen in Print, & more especially from what I had heard from a distant connection, having considerable estates in Worscesterhire,1 I had thought that perhaps I could get some increase of Rent by lease. But what you say shows that leases are very unusual in lands under your care, & I confess I somehow quite forgot the very obvious (when recalled to one’s mind) importance of the probable effect on the currency by the wonderful Australian discoveries.2 This, I conceive, would be reason enough by itself against a long lease.

Again I beg to say that I am sorry that you shd. have had the trouble of writing & I remain My dear Sir | Your’s sincerely | C. Darwin


Edward Holland, lord of the manor of Dumbleton, Gloucestershire, was greatly interested in agriculture and owned large estates in Worcestershire.
CD refers to the effects of the Australian gold-rush. See also letter to W. D. Fox, 7 March [1852].


Discusses rent reduction and possibility of a lease.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Higgins
Sent from
Source of text
Lincolnshire Record Office
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1485,” accessed on 19 March 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5