skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Albany Hancock   22 June [1851]

Down Farnborough | Kent

June 22d.

My dear Sir

I write merely to thank you very much for your assistance regarding the Book & to request you to especially thank Mr. Alder when you see him for his kindness.—1 I am much obliged for the offer of the Iblas, but being on a rugged support, I do not think they would aid me.2

Pray believe me | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin

You can return the M.S.3 whenever you like, but I shd be sorry to lose the pages, though of no value.


This is probably a reference to CD’s Beagle notes on Mollusca, which accompanied the specimens of nudibranch molluscs CD had previously sent Hancock (see Correspondence vol. 4, letter to Albany Hancock, 25 December [1850]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Lovén, Sven. 1844. Ny art af Cirripedia [Alepas squalicola]. Öfversigt af Kongelige VetenskapsAkademiens Foärhandlingar 1: 192–4.


Thanks AH for assistance and Joshua Alder for his kindness. Ibla specimens offered would not aid him.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Albany Hancock
Sent from
Source of text
Natural History Museum (General Special Collections DC AL 1/4)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1437,” accessed on 14 June 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5