skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To E. A. Darwin   [25 April 1851]



My dear Erasmus.

Will you be so kind as to get inserted as follows in Times & in any other one or two Papers of largest circulation. “At Malvern on the 23d inst; of Fever, Anne Elizabeth Darwin, aged ten years, eldest daughter of Charles Darwin Esq. of Down Kent.”—

I have no idea whether men who supply newspaper insert these, if so Swale1 I employ & wd. of course have written to him.—

I will pay for this & Electric Telegraph together.—

—Poor Emma is well bodily & very firm, but feels bitterly & God knows we can neither see on any side a gleam of comfort.—

Fannys sweetness, firmness, constancy & experience were of inexpressible comfort to me at Malvern, & to the last day of my life it will be a comfort to me to think of the tears she so tenderly wept over our poor dear child, when all was over.

My dear Erasmus | Yours affecty | C. Darwin


In 1851 the firm was known as Swale and Wilson, publishers, general stationers, and news-vendors, of 21 Great Russell Street, London (Post Office London directory 1851).


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Writes about the death of Anne. Wishes EAD to insert an announcement of the death in the newspapers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 310)
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1416,” accessed on 9 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5