skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. R. Waterhouse   10 [June 1844 – March 1845]1

Down Bromley Kent


My dear Waterhouse

We shall be truly glad to see Mrs. Waterhouse, yourself & children on Wednesday. I am ashamed to say I forget what was the train, which we agreed you were start by: but please let it be, the train which leaves the Bricklayer’s Arms at 2o ’ 20’ & which reaches Croydon at about 3. olock.— My Phaeton (one chesnut horse) shall be there (& shall wait for one later train)

I send the card again as it may be useful about the omnibuses: please bring it with you.—

Ever yours | C. Darwin

N.B. Have mercy on people, like myself, with bad memories & put your address to every letter,—I was in despair trying to remember & search your your address.—


Dated from the reference to the Bricklayers’ Arms terminus of the Croydon railway, which was opened 1 May 1844; the passenger service to Croydon ended in March 1845 (Course 1962, p. 71). CD arrived back at Down from a visit to Maer, the Wedgwood family home, and Shrewsbury on 30 May (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 3, Appendix II).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Course, Edwin. 1962. London railways. London: B. T. Batsford.


Invites GRW and his family to visit.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Robert Waterhouse
Sent from
Source of text
Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13852,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3