skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   [after 12 October 1866]1

If you endorse this cheque you can pay Mr. Burns with it, so as not to bother yourself with passing it through your Bank.—2 But you ought to enter it in your accounts as received from me & paid by you.—


The date is established by the reference to Mr Burn (see n. 2, below).
Robert Burn was Francis’s tutor at Trinity College, Cambridge, where Francis was an undergraduate from 29 September 1866 until April 1870, when he received his BA (Admissions to Trinity College, Cambridge 5: 329, Cambridge University calendar 1870, p. xxiv; see also Correspondence vol. 13, letter to Robert Burn, 2 December [1865]). CD’s Classed account books (Down House MS) record a payment to Francis of £100 on 1 October 1866. Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242) records that Francis left home on 12 October 1866. CD’s instructions probably refer to the first payment Francis received while at university.


Admissions to Trinity College, Cambridge: Admissions to Trinity College, Cambridge. Edited by W. W. Rouse Ball and J. A. Venn. 5 vols. London: Macmillan. 1911–16.

Cambridge University calendar: The Cambridge University calendar. Cambridge: W. Page [and others]. 1796–1950.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Instructions on paying a bill.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 211: 2
Physical description
AL 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13793,” accessed on 8 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14