skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   28 February [1882]1

New University Club, | St. James’s Street, S.W.

Feb 28th

My dear Father,

I have just asked the broker for your G. West. Dividend. He is collecting it from the various sellers and as soon as it is all received, I will send you a cheque.2

You affect | son | W. E Darwin

Thank Mother for her letter. I have not seen Godfrey, and shall only say what I think3

Sara & I have just been to see your portrait— she admires it a great deal.4


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. E. Darwin, 4 January 1882.
William had purchased Great Western Railway shares on CD’s behalf in January 1882 (letter from W. E. Darwin, 4 January 1882). CD recorded a dividend payment of £116 10s. 5d. on 2 March 1882 (CD’s Account books–banking account (Down House MS)).
The letter from Emma Darwin has not been found but probably referred to the proposal that Godfrey Wedgwood’s son, Cecil Wedgwood, should join the Wedgwood pottery firm rather than applying to Cambridge University (letter from Emma Darwin to H. E. Litchfield, 10 January 1882 (DAR 219.9: 283)).
William and his wife Sara Darwin had seen a recent portrait of CD by John Collier (see letter to John Collier, 16 February 1882 and n. 5).


Gives information about the Great Western Railway dividend.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 114)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13711F,” accessed on 7 June 2023,