skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. E. Darwin   9 February 1882

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | (Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.)

Feb. 9th 1882

My dear old W.

It is great news about the house.1 In my opinion the question turns on whether, as far as you can see, you wd like to live in your present house for a good many years; for if so, the extra outlay of 20£ per annum for 8 years is no consideration, against the comfort of adding & doing what you like to the place.— There is much in feeling the place is your own, & this your mother feels strongly.—

The price seems to me high, but this merely shows that the site is valued, The only wisdom that I can extract from your mother is “that money does not signify a bit”. I am not very well, so no more.

Your affectionate Father | Ch. Darwin

P.S I have received as Hon member of the American Assoc of Social Science a volume of its Journal, & a vol. of the Proceedings of a Conference held at Boston.—2

Wd you or Sara3 care for these 2 volumes— they are of no use to me.


The owner of the house that William rented had offered to sell it to him (letter from Emma Darwin to G. H. Darwin, 10 February [1882]; DAR 210.3: 39).
See letter from F. B. Sanborn, 12 January 1882 and nn. 2 and 3; Franklin Benjamin Sanborn, who was the general secretary of the American Social Science Association, had sent the publications.


Writes about WED’s purchasing a house.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Erasmus Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.6: 185
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13672,” accessed on 2 October 2023,