skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   16 January [1882]1

Basset, | Southampton.

Jan 16

Dear Father,

When at Col Atherley’s at Shanklin he produced a pinch of snuff of a super-fine quality called the Somerset Mixture   As you like a variety I have told Fribourg & Treyer to send you a tin.2

I am glad to find George is really going to Jamaica.3

Please thank Mother for her card; Miss D. was not considered experienced enough, & was not very strong in accounts4

Your affect son | W.ED


The year is established by the reference to George’s trip to Jamaica (see n. 3, below).
Francis Henry Atherley resided at Landguard Manor, Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Fribourg & Treyer was a tobacconist at 34 Haymarket, St James, London (Evans [1921]).
George Howard Darwin left for Jamaica at the beginning of February, arriving on the 15th (letter from Emma Darwin to G. H. Darwin, [20 February 1882] (DAR 210.3: 40)).
The card from Emma Darwin has not been found; Miss D. has not been identified.


Evans, George. [1921.] The old snuff house of Fribourg & Treyer at the sign of the Rasp & crown: no. 34 St. James’s Haymarket, London, S.W., 1720, 1920. [London]: published for the author by D. Macbeth.


Has ordered a tin of Somerset Mixture snuff for CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 106)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13619F,” accessed on 1 June 2023,