skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. de C. Sowerby   23 September [1850]

Down Farnborough Kent

Sept. 23d.

My dear Sir

I know there can be no chance of the enclosed figure being introduced on the Plate, & therefore will you be so good as to do it on wood:1 seeing the way they now shade Birds &c on wood, I can see no reason why the enclosed may not be done very well.— I had better see it before it is cut.—

I hope soon to hear of your Plates. Please to observe that I shall want 2 proofs of each.—

As soon as you can say positively, that I shall find 2 proofs at your house, I will come up (or send for them the evening before) & take drawings &c all to my Brother’s House & then study them.—

I shd like to know as many days beforehand, as you can speak quite positively.—

Upon reflexion you need not send me the block with the enclosed drawing on it, for I can examine it, when I come up to see Proof-Plate sheets, & there will be time enough to have it cut afterwards.

Dear Sir | Your’s very faithfully | C. Darwin

I shall be anxious to hear how you managed to get in the last lot, & how many of the old drawings you were compelled to leave out.— I have just had a lot from Germany,2 but thank Heaven I knew all except enclosed which comes uncommonly close to P. validus of Steenstrup.—3


Sowerby was able to fit in the figure (Fossil Cirripedia (1851): Tab. IV, fig. 3b). It is the inside view of the scutum of Pollicipes gracilis. See letter to J. de C. Sowerby, 11 November [1850].
Probably the specimens sent by Wilhelm Bernhard Rudolph Hadrian Dunker, as referred to in letter to W. B. R. H. Dunker, 20 September 1850.
CD described this specimen, Pollicipes gracilis, in Fossil Cirripedia (1851): 69, giving his reasons for believing it distinct from P. validus. His specimen came from Friedrich Adolph Roemer’s collection, as forwarded by Dunker (see n. 2, above).


Fossil Cirripedia (1851): A monograph on the fossil Lepadidæ, or, pedunculated cirripedes of Great Britain. By Charles Darwin. London: Palaeontographical Society. 1851.


Plans to come to London to examine the proofs of JdeCS’s plates [for Fossil Cirripedia (Lepadidae)]. Has new German specimens; one is unknown and must be introduced but a woodblock will do.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
James de Carle Sowerby
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1360,” accessed on 23 June 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4