skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Maria Hooker   31 August [1850]

Down Farnborough Kent

Aug 31.

Dear Lady Hooker

I am truly sorry to hear of Sir William’s illness1 & sincerely hope he may soon recover his strength: pray give him my kind regards & thanks for the enclosed note & extract.— I had never even heard of Mr. Hodgson’s Physico=geographical memoir:2 if a copy has ever come for me, it may be lying at some of the Societies, in which case I shall probably soon receive it.— Whenever I read it, should I have anything to remark, I will assuredly write direct to Mr. Hodgson.—

I am delighted to hear that your son is enjoying the grand Sylhet mountains.—3

Pray believe me. | Yours sincerely obliged | C. Darwin


W. J. Hooker suffered from a serious recurrent throat ailment (see Allan 1967, p. 188).
See letter from J. D. Hooker, 6 and 7 April 1850. Hooker set out on his expedition to the Khasia Hills and Silhet on 1 May 1850.


Allan, Mea. 1967. The Hookers of Kew, 1785–1911. London: Michael Joseph.

Hodgson, Brian Houghton. 1849. On the physical geography of the Himálaya. Journal of the Asiatic Society of Bengal 18: 761-88.


Expresses sympathy to MSH on W. J. Hooker’s illness.

Will send his comments on Hodgson’s physico-geographical memoir ["On the physical geography of the Himalayas", J. Asiat. Soc. Bengal 18 (1849): 761–88] directly to him.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Maria Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.95)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1349,” accessed on 12 May 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4