skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   25 May [1881]

Down.

May 25th

The Page marked D had got separate from all the others, so I have sent whole lot, each bundle separate from others.— I send also Proofs of my Ch. V. (no more sheets from Linn. Soc.)1 I have now got Ch VI (& Ch VII very short) & all shall be sent in 2 or 3. days— Your corrected copy has arrived, but I have not looked at it.2

C. D.

B. all right— just started on Daisy w. Pauline carrying a regt of paper soldiers loose in her hand. It wd not be marching if they were put in her pocket3

Footnotes

Francis was missing a couple of proof-sheets from the Linnean Society; see letter from Francis Darwin, 23 [May 1881] and n. 11. This sentence was written between the lines by Emma Darwin.
See letter from Francis Darwin, 23 [May 1881]. Francis had asked for some of his research notes to be sent; ‘D’ indicated that the page contained a diagram. Francis had sent corrections to proof-sheets of Earthworms.
Bernard Darwin had gone for a ride on the family’s donkey, Daisy, with his nurse, Pauline Badel (letter from Emma Darwin to H. E. Litchfield, [12 September 1879], DAR 219.9: 203). Francis regularly sent paper soldiers to Bernard. The postscript was written by Emma Darwin.

Bibliography

Earthworms: The formation of vegetable mould through the action of worms: with observations on their habits. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1881.

Summary

Sends further chapters of Earthworms for correction.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-13174
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Francis Darwin
Sent from
Down
Postmark
MY 25 81
Source of text
DAR 211: 76
Physical description
ApcS

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13174,” accessed on 8 February 2023, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-13174.xml

letter