skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. E. Darwin   [27 February 1881]1

4 Bryanston St

Sunday

My dear William.

Eras gave me the enclosed yesterday.—2 I suppose that it is worth accepting or selling.— Please to decide which.— What will you do about the Co-Trustee signature? Eras thought that if you sent Probate to Ry Coy they would accept your signature as executor of Jos.; but you will know best. If you accept the shares, I will send as soon as you like cheque for 149.10.0.3 It will be necessary to remember about next January.—

Eras is, I think, steadily, though very slowly improving & now sits up in bed-room in afternoon for some hours— —4 We have seen a multitude of people & I am soon off for the Huxleys5

Ever yours | C. Darwin

Footnotes

The date is established by CD’s visit to London between 24 February and 3 March 1881, and the reference to Erasmus Alvey Darwin’s ill health (see also letter to G. H. Darwin, 27–8 February [1881]). The Sunday between 24 February and 3 March was 27 February.
The enclosure has not been found. It possibly related to Emma Darwin’s trust, of which E. A. Darwin was a trustee. The other trustee had been Emma’s recently deceased brother Josiah Wedgwood III, for whom William was executor.
Probably the cost of railway shares, since CD mentions the Railway Company.
Emma Darwin had first reported that E. A. Darwin was very unwell in her letter to G. H. Darwin of 16 February 1881 (DAR 210.3: 4).

Summary

Discusses some business matters

and E. A. Darwin’s health.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-13035
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Erasmus Darwin
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 4
Source of text
DAR 210.6: 177
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13035,” accessed on 19 July 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-13035.xml

letter