skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From S. H. Haliburton   12 December [1880]1

Bridge House | Richmond | S.W.

Decr. 12th.—

Dear Charles Darwin

It is no use! I cannot resist writing to tell you, what a real & great pleasure it was to me, to see you, & such a goodly Assemblage of Darwins besides, a gratification I had hardly hoped for—2 You are one of my oldest remaining friends, & you are so happily associated with the palmy days of yore, that it is indeed a heartfelt satisfaction to me to see you, & to feel assured, that old times are still fresh in your memory, & your friendly regard unabated—3

I can only hope this satisfaction may be renewed at no very distant period for Life is short, & uncertain; But while it lasts, believe that I am always most affectionately your’s, | S. H. Haliburton.

PS.| Our meeting had but one drawback, you called me “Mss. Haliburton” twice— This offence must not be repeated—4

CD annotations

Top of letter: ‘done’


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to S. H. Haliburton, 13 December 1880.
Haliburton had visited CD and Emma Darwin at the home of Erasmus Alvey Darwin some time during their stay in London from 7 to 11 December 1880 (see letter to S. H. Haliburton, 13 December 1880).
Haliburton had been a close friend and neighbour of CD before the Beagle voyage.


Writes of the pleasure of seeing him again.

Letter details

Letter no.
Sarah Harriet Mostyn Owen/Sarah Harriet Williams/Sarah Harriet Haliburton
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 99: 209–10
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12907,” accessed on 8 June 2023,