skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From James Paget   3 December 1880

Harewood Place | Hanover Square | London W.

Decr. 3. 1880

My dear Darwin

Let me thank you for your note and for the great pleasure I have had in even a partial reading of your new book—though it makes me feel that we must go beyond plants for a really elemental pathology—1 I wish I knew enough of crystals to work at them— I gladly take note of your promise to come to luncheon.2 Any day will do and the sooner after 1 the better for the longer time—

Sincerely your’s | James Paget.


Paget’s name is on CD’s presentation list for Movement in plants (Appendix IV). CD had commented on Paget’s lecture on elemental pathology (Paget 1880; see letter to James Paget, 14 November 1880).
See letter to James Paget, 14 November 1880. The Darwins were in London from 7 to 11 December 1880 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Movement in plants: The power of movement in plants. By Charles Darwin. Assisted by Francis Darwin. London: John Murray. 1880.

Paget, James. 1880. An address on elemental pathology. British Medical Journal 2: 611–14, 649–52.


Thanks CD for his note and his new book [Movement in plants].

Makes him feel "we must go beyond plants for a really elemental pathology".

Wishes he knew enough about crystals to work at them.

Letter details

Letter no.
James Paget, 1st baronet
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Harewood Place, 1
Source of text
DAR 174: 12
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12886,” accessed on 12 September 2023,