skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   17 [September 1831]

17 Spring Gardens

Saturday 17th.—

My dear Sir

I arrived this morning from Plymouth & found your letter with six others on my table.— I mention this, as it will account for my writing to you a very short letter.— I called on your brother, but he was not at home, I heard there that you left London yesterday: How very unfortunate it was my being detained in Plymouth: I should have much enjoyed taking a walk in London town with you.— I am much obliged for your asking me to take up my quarters with you: I will most gratefully accept it in every point but one, viz sleeping at your house.— I shall arrive in the middle of the night by the Mail,1 & after 2 or 3 days shall start very early in the morning to Birmingham: So I cannot think of turning your house upside down for merely one night.— Will you be kind enough to order a bed for me at the Hoops2 for Monday night: as it is almost certain I shall come to Cambridge then.— You may tremble at my arrival,—for I shall not give you a moments peace. I have so many things to ask about & talk about.— Every thing goes on very well.— The SS Islands daily become more probable.— My cabin is more comfortable than I expected: & my only difficulty is about the disposal of my collection when I come back.— I have seen this very morning Cap. Beaufort & had some talk on the subject.— There is one other disagreeable thing, but of this in future.— The ballance however is quite on the prosperous side.—

Excuse this hasty letter & believe me dear Sir, with my best thanks, Yours ever most sincerely | Chas. Darwin.—


The Louth and Boston Mail arrived at half-past two every morning from London; the Rising Sun coach to Birmingham left at 6.00 a.m. (Cambridge University calendar, 1831).
The Hoop Inn, Cambridge.


Plans to come to Cambridge to discuss Beagle voyage. Only difficulty is disposal of his collections. South Sea Islands now more probable.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
London, Spring Gardens, 17
17 SE 1831
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 6 DAR/1/1/6)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 128,” accessed on 17 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1