skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J.-H. Fabre   6 January 1880

Down, | Beckenham Kent.

Jan 6. 80

Dear Sir,

It has gratified me much that you should have thought of sending me a copy of your ‘Souvenirs Entomologiques &c’.1 In one sense I am worthy of the gift, for I do not believe that any one in Europe has more truly admired your investigations than I have done.2

I look forward with much pleasure to reading your volume, & remain | With great respect | Yours faithfully | Charles Darwin

Mons. Fabre

Footnotes

CD’s annotated copy of Fabre 1879 is in the Darwin Library–CUL; see letter from J.-H. Fabre, 3 January 1880.
CD described Fabre as an ‘inimitable observer’ in Descent 1: 364. See also Origin 6th ed., pp. 216, 394.

Bibliography

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Fabre, Jean-Henri. 1879. Souvenirs entomologiques: études sur l’instinct et les mœurs des insectes. Paris: Librairie Ch. Delagrave.

Origin 6th ed.: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Summary

Thanks JHF for copy of his Souvenirs entomologiques [1879].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12406
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Jean-Henri Casimir (Jean-Henri) Fabre
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, Bibliothèque centrale, Paris (Ms FAB 32)
Physical description
LS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12406,” accessed on 25 June 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12406.xml

letter